because: caramelized onions

I felt productive this weekend, mainly because I roasted more tomatoes and had the inspired plan to caramelize onions in the oven at the same time. It worked brilliantly, beautifully. I know this because I couldn’t stop eating them this morning. They are velvety, jammy, savory and sweet.

We planted onions this spring and ended up with a lot of them come harvest time. I’m pretty happy about this. However, there were a few that didn’t cure well that had begun to go a bit mushy. I decided that since I had the oven on at 275° for the next five hours anyway, I may as well put some onions in. I sliced the good parts of five or so of such onions thickly and tossed them with a drizzle of olive oil in a pyrex dish. Nothing makes me tear up like these homegrown onions (not quite true, but they are certainly tear inducing). I think I stirred them twice over the course of the evening, and by the end of the cooking time they were very soft and lightly browned. I turned off the oven and left them to stew overnight. In the morning they were perfect. I added a touch of thyme-infused sea salt, and ended up snacking on a few spoonfuls before breakfast.

Because I wanted to eat more caramelized onions and because I was pretty hungry, I concocted a salad which made use of a few generous forkfuls.

IMG_1833

September Salad with beets, caramelized onions and pecans

I didn’t measure anything because I wasn’t planning on writing about it, but it turned out so good that you will have to accept my approximations until I make it again, and adjust it to taste. I thought about dressing the salad, but I’m glad that I didn’t because the oil from the onions coated everything nicely.

⋅ ~ 4 leaves kale, washed, stemmed, kneaded til bright green and cut into ribbons
⋅ several handfuls diced cooked beets (I used cold beets but warm would probably be lovely as well)
⋅ several forkfuls caramelized onion (and I do mean full)
⋅ soft cheese, crumbled (I used fromage frais, but a creamy feta would also be nice, such as Doric Macedonian Feta – Elise I silently thank you every time I find myself in possession of a bucket of the stuff)
⋅ a smallish handful of pecans, hand crushed and toasted over medium heat
= Assemble and eat.

IMG_1838

2 thoughts on “because: caramelized onions

Leave a Reply

