away

I work downtown. We live in a quiet neighborhood not far from town. This is all very well for walking to work along the seawall and having easy access to excellent bookstores and chocolateries, but I have spent most of my life falling asleep to the sounds of treefrogs and owls, rain and wind. The city traffic and sirens and busyness can be overwhelming. Sometimes I need to get away. Anywhere with forest or open water and quiet will do.

On one such day recently, we headed out for a hike in the highlands. I wore gumboots and brought an apple and a lump of cheese, and couldn’t resist looking for hedgehog mushrooms even though I know it’s still too early for them there.

IMG_8329 IMG_8334 IMG_8337 IMG_8342 IMG_8339 IMG_8347

Leave a Reply

