improvements

For weeks, I’ve exchanged comments with coworkers, relatives, and random passers-bys on how it sure feels like summer. Today I clued in to the fact that summer is underway all around me. The garden is now a lush place where we go in the evenings to peruse the makings of dinner and to watch a hummingbird play in the tiny sprinkler. I’ve come home sun-reddened on several occasions. Today I stood in the ocean with sea anemones and limpets near my toes.

There has been a lot of work in my life lately, so much so that my time at home has focused narrowly on washing dishes, lying on the floor and feeding the cat. Old age has been a dream come true for Heidi/Pudding cat; she’s lost a lot of weight so we feed her wet food every time she yowls at us or sits in the kitchen looking expectant or follows us around looking lost.

Work this past week has been improved by the following: a USB-powered salt lamp for my desk, homemade pistachio vanilla bean ice cream from an awesome coworker, and a photo of another coworker’s enormous cat. It has also improved greatly by my not having to be there today.

I must be getting older because I’m having urges to clean this house and pull weeds. Baking and painting and reading would be nice too.

  

Leave a Reply

