making an effort

I dropped the “good morning” muffins first thing this morning. Irony is not lost at on me at five am. They fell in a heavy arc, landing right-side up in a gooey mess. The split-second slip resulted in fifteen minutes of re-scooping batter, as the soft muffin trays folded in on themselves. Only one nascent muffin was lost to the floor (there is no five-second rule in a commercial kitchen), upon which I stepped on it accidentally before cleaning it up. Later in the day, I was asked to take an early morning shift for a coworker. I think my face and my drawn-out oookaay betrayed me. All I could think of was how happy I’ll be when I never have to do the early shift again, and the idea of doing an extra one was far from welcome. I am trying not to get desperate in my search for a new line of work. I’m hoping that if I keep showing up and putting myself out there and making an effort, that the right thing will come along in perfect time.

In other news, I think everyone should occasionally cry the good, honest tears that come from chopping an onion. It’s surely cleansing and grounding in some way. Especially when it results in quiche.

photo-4  photo3  photo-5

Mixed Vegetable Quiche with pressed Cheese Crust

The crust recipe is from my mother- I think she may have gotten it from the Among Friends rotary cookbook

Crust
3/4 cup flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp dry mustard
1/2 cup grated cheddar
1/4 cup butter, melted and somewhat cooled

Filling
1 yellow onion, diced
broccoli, to taste (maybe two small heads)
other veggies, according to what you have in mind or in the fridge (garlic, leeks, peppers, zucchini, kale… bacon, while not a vegetable is also nice)
1 cup grated cheese (approx.- possibly more- or less)
herbs to season – I like thyme, tarragon and poultry seasoning

Custard
4 to 6 eggs (I usually use 5)
a generous sploosh of milk- try about 1 to 1 1/2 cups, it will depend on the filling and on the pie dish. Cream of any kind is a delicious substitution.
salt and pepper to taste

Begin by dicing and sautéing the onion. If you are adding bacon, add it now. Peppers, zucchini and garlic can be added once the onion has softened. Melt the butter for the crust and stir together all the other crust ingredients in an 8″ pie dish. Add the butter and mix with a fork, then with your hands. Press the crust in an even layer to cover the pie dish. It can be crumbly and finicky at first but eventually you will gently force it into place. Wash veggies like broccoli and kale and cut them into bite-sized pieces. I don’t cook them in advance because I find they get plenty of cooking time in the oven. Whisk together the eggs, milk, salt and pepper. In the pie dish, layer the sautéed veg, the raw veg and the cheese, then pour the custard over top. Bake at 350º for 45-60 minutes, or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean. Leave it to cool and firm up for a few minutes before digging in.

Note: A dear friend made this and found that there was not enough crust and too much custard, so you may want to consider increasing the crust, maybe even doubling it, and using less eggs and milk as it is easy to whisk together more with a fork. I do press the crust fairly thin. Also, going back to add this note I discovered a big typo: I had written 1/2 tsp grated cheddar for the crust when it should be 1/2 cup! My sincere apologies to anyone who followed this and had a rather lame crust as a result. Please consider trying it again with more cheese.

Leave a Reply

