improvements

This morning I nearly called in sick. I was so not ready for the world. But off I went, and kept telling myself that things would get better. After a normal but good day at work, I drove home to find that J had mopped, made the bunnies a big hay-filled box to hang out in, and had made fruit leather. I knew I found a good one.

This afternoon I got a call from an art store that I applied at (and my #1 choice of jobs at the moment)… Yes!

Before dinner (which J made- he really is awesome), I put together a batch of granola. I like to have granola on hand for snacking, and it became more of a priority after my failed attempt at yogurt on Thursday. I’ve made yogurt before, and sometimes it turns out better than other times. I normally use thermoses to culture it in, but have had trouble getting it to set. J’s parents have kindly lent us their yogurt maker while they’re on holidays and so I was really looking forward to it all just working out how it’s meant to. However, there’s always fine print that gets skimmed over (or large print in caps lock tucked away at the bottom of the page)… So I learned something important about yogurt on Thursday. It seems to be very important that it not get moved at all while it is doing its thing. Not shuffling it over to make room on the counter, not jiggling it a bit every few hours to see if it’s set yet. I now have seven small jars of strange, flavorful, slightly coagulated milk. Because I used good milk and it really is perfectly fine, just not set, I don’t want to throw it out. But it definitely could use the help of some granola.

IMG_7849 IMG_7848 IMG_7858

Our Everyday Granola
adapted from – but still strongly based on- Megan Gordon’s recipe from Whole-Grain Mornings

3 cups rolled oats
1 cup almonds, coarsely chopped
1/2 cup walnuts, coarsely chopped
1/2 hazelnuts (aka filberts), coarsely chopped
1/4 pumpkin seeds
1/4  cup sunflower seeds
1 1/2 tsp salt (nice salt, like French grey sea salt)
1/2 tsp cardamom
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ginger (new to this batch but I think I like it)

1/2 cup olive oil
1/3 to 1/2 cup maple syrup
1/2 to 1 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup raisins
1/2 cup dried cranberries

Mix the dry ingredients, then stir in the wet. Spread onto a parchment-lined baking sheet and bake at 350° for 35-40 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes. It should be toasty and appealing. Mix in the raisins and cranberries after baking.

Leave a Reply

