Coastal January

There is something so right in a rainy day. Even when the dishes are piled on the counter and the dust bunnies are changing shapes in the corners, I can be here in my blanket of tired and just make coffee and stare out the window.

I’m inspired by friends who are making beauty with their lives.

This feels like a time of gathering and beginning, with great growth around the corner. In the wet grass around my house, knobby bulbs are radiating their stored sun-energy, pushing upwards light green shoots. Small hard buds on the birch tree’s branches are readying.

In my own life, so much has changed this winter. I have gained and lost, and settled into a new place in my old hometown. I’m working at working at another job, soon. I know I will find something better, that things always work out better than I expect, but I’m still scared. What I want is to be at home, painting my imagination.

Soon, I will do the dishes. I will switch to herbal tea. I will sit down at my desk, or maybe on the floor, and set aside the worry surrounding my uncertainty. It is okay not to know. I’m open to today. In my hands, solid things, and in my eyes, wonder.

IMG_7354 IMG_7364 IMG_7380

Leave a Reply

