Onion skins, a walk in the rain, printing

It’s pouring rain outside. Still.

Inside, my house smells like onions. I’m cooking up onion skins for a dye bath.

Yesterday, a particularly nasty cold caught up with me, and so I rearranged the living room furniture, and went for a walk in the mist between torrential downpours.  Inspired by the onion skins and the heap of onions my small garden produced, I sauteed onions for curried squash soup, then sauteed more onions for burritos. I have a lot of onions, which is great because I’m really excited about the colour the onion skins are producing. It’s a rich ruby red right now and I’m curious to see what will happen to the cotton that I’m planning on putting in there. To my local friends, if you happen to feel like saving onion skins for me that would be most delightful.

After a long sleep and many spoonfuls of oil of oregano hidden in honey, I am feeling much better today. This afternoon brought a good rain walk. Perhaps it comes of a childhood spent on Vancouver Island; I find walks in the pouring rain invigorating, and no, I don’t carry an umbrella.

Today, too, I began printing. This is the part of the process I most enjoy and I’m looking forward to spending the rest of the week with a squeegee in hand.

Leave a Reply

