And so it begins again

I have taken a month off work to art about in my studio.

This morning, day one, I woke up exhausted. Today is meant to be a switching gears kind of day. Recovering from work, maybe pulling the last of the root vegetables from the garden and putting some garlic in. Maybe I’ll tidy the house a bit so I can focus, and bake something nummy to relax and get my creative energy flowing. As Kristie at work said yesterday, “baking is therapeutic”.

So, this is it. Here we go! A taste of real, full-time arting.

I must admit, I have this idea that I’ll be able to go for nice walks in the crisp fall air and admire the fiery leaves and misty mountains, and sit about drinking lots of coffee and maybe scribbling in my journal.
These things might happen to keep me going.

The real plan though, is to shift into production mode. I need to set up my light table and emulse and burn new screens, cook up some dyebaths (I have some birch bark soaking in the basement that will hopefully yield a sweet rosy shade), do a whole bunch of printing and steaming and rinsing and probably more printing, then some cutting and pressing and pinning and stitching. Hopefully I’ll also have time to pound out some more felt and make tea cozies out of it.


Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

